+234 808 3739 204 Contact Us

Ndidi Handed The Hallowed No 4 Shirt As Nigeria Announce Jersey Numbers For

The Nigeria Football Federation on Monday morning announced the Super Eagles jersey numbers for the 2018 World Cup, with four players that are not guaranteed starters named in the first eleven.
Enyimba goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa will suit up with the number one jersey, Monaco’s Elderson Echiejile gets the number three kit, Las Palmas’ Oghenekaro Etebo will wear the number eight jersey and Ahmed Musa retains his number seven shirt.
Everything indicates that former Watford star Odion Ighalo will lead the Super Eagles attack in Russia after he was handed the iconic number nine shirt, ahead of Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo and Kelechi Iheanacho.
Central defenders William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun will wear the number five and six shirts respectively, a strong hint that they will start against Croatia on June 16.
Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi has been given the honour of wearing the hallowed number four jersey, previously worn by Nigeria greats Stephen Keshi (1994) and Nwankwo Kanu (1998, 2002 and 2010) at the World Cups.
Though Chelsea star Victor Moses has been given the number 11 jersey, he is unlikely to play from the left wing in Nigeria’s World Cup opener.
Nigeria World Cup Squad Numbers
1) Ikechukwu Ezenwa
2) Brian Idowu
3) Elderson Echiejile
4) Wilfred Ndidi
5) William Troost-Ekong
6) Leon Balogun
7) Ahmed Musa
8) Oghenekaro Etebo
9) Odion Ighalo
10) Obi Mikel
11) Victor Moses
12) Abdullahi Shehu
13) Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo
14) Kelechi Iheanacho
15) Joel Obi
16) Daniel Akpeyi
17) Eddy Onazi
18) Alex Iwobi
19) John Ogu
20) Chidozie Awaziem
21) Tyronne Ebuehi
22) Kenneth Omeruo
23 ) Francis Uzoho

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you Have Any Questions Call Us On +234 808 3739 204

%d bloggers like this: