+234 808 3739 204 Contact Us

Moore named to 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

IRVING, Texas – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced Monday that Virginia Tech legend Corey Moore is one of 76 players on the 2019 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, California. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Levi’s Stadium. The Jan. 7 announcement will be televised live, and specific viewing information will be available as the date draws near.

One of the most intimidating defensive linemen in college football in the 1990s, Moore left Virginia Tech as the most decorated player ever to put on a Hokie uniform. In 1999, the year he helped lead the Hokies to BCS National Championship game, Moore won the Bronko Nagurski Award as college football’s defensive player of the year, the Lombardi Award as college football’s lineman of the year, the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year award and was a unanimous first-team All-American. His first-team All-America selections made him eligible for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Moore also earned All-America honors in 1998 when he led the BIG EAST with 13.5 sacks. He gained first-team All-America recognition from the Football Coaches Association, was a second-team pick by the AP and The Sporting News and a third-team choice of Football News. In three seasons, Moore amassed 35 sacks, totaling a loss of 292 yards, 23 tackles for loss, 166 total tackles, 58 quarterback hurries, six forced fumbles and three blocked kicks in three seasons. His No. 56 jersey was retired by Virginia Tech on October 23, 2010.

Moore looks to become the eighth inductee affiliated with Virginia Tech football to be enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame – Andy Gustafson (inducted 1985), Hunter Carpenter (inducted 1957) Carroll Dale (inducted 1987), Frank Loria (inducted 1999), Jerry Claiborne (inducted 1999), Bruce Smith (inducted 2006) and Frank Beamer. Beamer, who was selected for induction in his first year on the ballot, will be inducted during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown.

The ballot was emailed today to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, and the Divisional Honors Court, chaired by former Marshall head coach, longtime athletics director and NFF Board Member Jack Lengyel, include an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you Have Any Questions Call Us On +234 808 3739 204

%d bloggers like this: